Ends on April 1, 2018

$30.00 USD

Each year from December 1 - April 1 we accept submissions of full-length poetry (50-100 pp.) and fiction (30,000 word minimum) manuscripts for The Orison Prizes in Poetry and Fiction, judged by different prominent writers each year in a blind judging process.

The winning entry in each genre will be awarded publication and a $1,500 cash prize, in addition to a standard royalties contract

Finalists will be selected by the editorial staff at Orison Books, and the winners will be selected from among the finalist manuscripts by the judges. Current or former students of the judges, or anyone with a close personal relationship with the judges, are not eligible to submit. In the event that a judge in either genre does not select a winner from among the finalists, the Editor will select a winner. The editors also reserve the right to select no finalists, in which case all entry fees will be refunded to the entrants. All finalist manuscripts will be considered for publication under a standard royalties contract. 

  • Do not include your name anywhere in your manuscript file or file name, but only in your Submittable profile and cover letter. 
  • Please include an acknowledgments page in your manuscript listing any periodicals where individual pieces from your manuscript first appeared.
  • Original English work only; no translations.
  • Fiction manuscripts may consist of short stories, a novel, a novella, flash/micro fiction, or any combination of forms, as long as the manuscript meets the 30,000 word minimum.
  • Entry Fee: $30.
  • Electronic submissions through Submittable only.
  • Simultaneous submissions are accepted; please notify us immediately should a manuscript be accepted for publication elsewhere.
  • Multiple manuscripts may be submitted; each manuscript must be accompanied by a separate entry fee.
  • Orison Books is committed to running ethical and transparent contests. Current or former students of a judge, or anyone with a close personal relationship with that judge, are not eligible to submit in the category in question. Judges also never see author names until after they have made their selections. Orison Books also undertakes never to extend contest deadlines, except in the case of technical problems or other events that would prevent submitters from entering the contest by the original deadline.

2018 judges
: Vandana Khanna
Fiction: Lan Samantha Chang

About the judges: 

Vandana Khanna's first poetry collection, Train to Agra, won the Crab Orchard Review First Book Prize, and her second collection, Afternoon Masala, was the co-winner of the Miller Williams Arkansas Poetry Prize. She is also the author of a chapbook of poems, The Goddess Monologues (Diode Editions). Her work has appeared in journals such as Crazyhorse, Callaloo, The Missouri Review, 32 Poems, and Indiana Review, as well as in the anthologies Asian American Poetry: The Next Generation and Indivisible: An Anthology of Contemporary South Asian American Poetry. She has taught English and Creative Writing at colleges and universities across the country including Indiana University, Pitzer College, and the University of Southern California.

Lan Samantha Chang is the director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and is the author of a collection of short fiction, Hunger, and two novels, Inheritance and All Is Forgotten, Nothing Is Lost. Her work has been translated into nine languages and has been chosen twice for The Best American Short Stories. She has received creative writing fellowships from Stanford University, Princeton University, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.