Ends on August 1, 2017

$15.00 USD

Each year from May 1 – August 1 we accept entries of unpublished single works in three genres (fiction, non-fiction, & poetry) for consideration for The Orison Anthology Awards. The winner in each genre will receive a $500 cash prize as well as publication in The Orison Anthology, an annual collection of the best spiritually engaged writing that appeared in periodicals in the preceding year. (The unpublished work selected for The Orison Anthology Awards will be featured alongside the reprinted material.)

Submit up to 3 poems (15 pp. max), 1 story (up to 8,000 words), or 1 work of non-fiction (up to 8,000 words). You may submit in multiple genres and/or submit multiple entries in each genre, provided you pay an entry fee and upload separate files for each entry.

Entry Fee: $15
Submission Period: May 1 – August 1, 2017

2017 Judges: Justin Torres (fiction), Scott Russell Sanders (non-fiction), Nickole Brown (poetry)

All manuscripts will be read “blind”; do not include any identifying information in your file, but only in your cover letter. Original English work only; no translations. Finalists will be selected by the editorial staff at Orison Books, and a winner will be selected in each genre by different prominent writers acting as contest judges each year. Current or former students of the judge in the genre in which they are submitting, or anyone with a close personal relationship with that judge, are not eligible to submit. In the event that a judge does not select a winner in their genre from among the finalists, the Editor will select a winner. The editors also reserve the right to select no finalists, in which case all entry fees will be refunded to contest entrants.

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.